

# Recap of the 2023 SASES Undergraduate Student Program in St. Louis

February 23, 2024

Quiz Bowl. Photo by Rachel Schutte.

Quiz Bowl. Photo by Rachel Schutte.

The 2023 Students of Agronomy, Soils, and Environmental Sciences (SASES) undergraduate student program presented a full slate of programs during the Annual Meeting. In addition to the contests, students kicked off their meeting experience with SASES tours throughout the St. Louis area. In addition to the many contests listed below, events included a social, opening brunch featuring keynote speaker Dr. Chavonda Jacobs Young (USDAIARS Under Secretary of Agriculture for Research, Education, and Economics), elections, Hot Topics sessions (Food Pricing and Food Deserts, Climate Change and Crops/Alternative Crops, Soils and Climate Change, Technology, Al, and Self Driving Equipment), CCA/CPSS Career Accelerator, Grad School Workshop, Networking with the Past Presidents, Career Fair with minißessions, and a special Awards Ceremony to recognize the student contest winners!

Congratulations to all contest winners (both individual students and clubs)!

# **Quiz Bowl**

First place: Oklahoma State University (Steven Bachelor, Cade Halbrook, Gabe Verkrayse, and Morgan Wehr)

## **President's Trophy**

First place: California State University, Fresno

Second place: Texas A&M University

Third place: West Texas A&M University

## **National Club Poster Contest**

First place: University of Wisconsin-River Falls

Second place: Michigan State University

Third place: University of Missouri



National Club Poster Contest. Photo by Rachel Schutte.

# **Undergraduate Student Research Poster Competition Results**

# **Golden Opportunity Scholars**

First place: Cole Hammett, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

## Soils

First place: Jenna Mark, Texas A&M University

# **Crop Nutrients**

First place: Jonathan Brye, University of Arkansas

# **Crop Disease, Pest, and Weed Control**

First place: Daniel Zhu, University of Wisconsin-Madison

#### **Cropping Systems**

First place: Katherine Baker, Southern Illinois University

#### General

First place: Caden Seely, Brigham Young University

## **Undergraduate Student Internship Poster Contest**

Sponsored by the ASA Advancing Agronomy via Public-Private Partnerships Community

First place: William Rich, Auburn University

Second place: Madelynn Keiffer, Purdue University

Third place: August Roach, University of Wisconsin-River Falls

# **SASES Undergraduate Research Oral Contest Results**

#### Session 1

First place: Maia Crummett, California State University, Chico

Second place: Gabriella Burkett, Southern Illinois University

Third place: Soleil Sklencar, Delaware Valley University

#### Session 2

First place: Abigail Norsworthy, University of Arkansas

Second place: Jieli Wegerif, University of Florida

Third place: Evie Moellering, Auburn University

## **Speech Contest**

First place: Ashlynn Hartman, Kansas State University

Second place: Claire King, Purdue University

Third place: Gayla Rose, Texas A&M University

Fourth place: Colten Nichols, University of Arkansas

Fifth place: Katherine Witbeck, University of Tennessee-Martin

Sixth place: Will Boston, Illinois State University

# **Pedology Contest**

First place: Ava McCune, University of Minnesota Twin Cities

Second place: Will Hernandez, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Third place: Katie Jansson, University of Arkansas



Pedology Contest. Photo by Rachel Schutte.

# **Crops Judging Contest**

### Team

First place: Kansas State University (Ike Bahr, Ellie Braun, Ashley Chandler, and Landon Trout)

Pedology Contest. Photo by Rachel Schutte.

## Individuals

First place: Jacob Roden, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Second place: Landon Trout, Kansas State University

Third place: Grant DeBruin, Ohio State University

Fourth place: Ike Bahr, Kansas State University

Fifth place: Ashley Chandler, Kansas State University

Sixth place: Daniel Zhu, University of Wisconsin-Madison

#### **Visual Presentation Contest**

First place: Wesley Herrman, University of Arkansas

Second place: Steven Mai, Auburn University

Third place: Kristy Kohlhagen, Purdue University

#### **Darrel S. Metcalf Journalism Contest**

First place: Franciny Oliveira da Silva, University of Kentucky

Second place: Steven Mai, Auburn University

Third place: Elizabeth Tranel, Iowa State University

Text © . The authors. CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. Except where otherwise noted, images are subject to copyright. Any reuse without express permission from the copyright owner is prohibited.